MAPPING PHILOSOPHY AS A WAY OF LIFE
PWL International Seminar

PWL International Seminar

The PWL International Seminar is held virtually once a month. Registration required via email to mapping.pwl@gmail.com.

Next sessions

June, 19 | 16h00 (UTC+1)

11h00 New York | 12h00 Brasília | 16h00 Lisbon | 17h00 Berlin

July, 10 | 16h00 (UTC+1)

11h00 New York | 12h00 Brasília | 16h00 Lisbon | 17h00 Berlin

Michael Chase (CNRS Centre Jean Pépin, Paris)

Previous sessions

May, 15 | 16h00 (UTC+1)

11h00 New York | 12h00 Brasília | 16h00 Lisbon | 17h00 Berlin

Simone D’Agostino (Gregorian University): “Logic as a Way of Life in Descartes and the Cartesians”

Watch video | Listen to the talk | More info

April, 17 | 16h00 (UTC+1)

11h00 New York | 12h00 Brasília | 16h00 Lisbon | 17h00 Berlin

Ype de Boer (Radboud University Nijmegen): “The Use of Life as True Life. Agamben in the Footsteps of Diogenes, Franciscus and Foucault”

Watch video | Listen to the talk | More info

March, 20 | 14h00 (UTC)

10h00 New York | 11h00 Brasília | 14h00 Lisbon | 15h00 Berlin

Daniele Lorenzini (University of Pennsylvania): “Genealogical Perfectionism: Nietzsche’s Genealogy as a Perfectionist Endeavor”

Watch video | Listen to the talk | More info

February, 14 | 16h00 (UTC)

11h00 New York | 13h00 Brasília | 16h00 Lisbon | 17h00 Berlin

Daniel Wyche (University of Chicago): “The Practice of Dignity: Martin Luther King, Howard Thurman, and Political Self-Purification”

Watch video | Listen to the talk | More info

January, 17 | 16h00 (UTC)

11h00 New York | 13h00 Brasília | 16h00 Lisbon | 17h00 Berlin

Laura Mueller (West Texas A&M University): “Vicious Academics”

Watch video | Listen to the talk | More info

December, 20 | 16h00 (UTC)

11h00 New York | 13h00 Brasília | 16h00 Lisbon | 17h00 Berlin

Jordi Crespo (Independent scholar): “Correspondence Matters: Friendship as (Trans)Formative Cultural Drive at Individual and Social Level”

Watch video | Listen to the talk | More info

November, 15 | 16h00 (UTC)

11h00 New York | 13h00 Brasília | 16h00 Lisbon | 17h00 Berlin

Caleb Cohoe (University of Denver): “Augustine’s On The Trinity as Protrepticus and Spiritual Exercise: The Christian Pursuit of Inner Wisdom”

Watch video | Listen to the talk | More info

October, 18 | 16h00 (UTC+1)

11h00 New York | 12h00 Brasília | 16h00 Lisbon | 17h00 Berlin

Hélder Telo (University of Beira Interior): “Philosophy as Askēsis or Pathos? A Heideggerian Challenge to Hadot and Foucault”

Watch video | Listen to the talk | More info

September, 20 | 14h00 (UTC+1)

9h00 New York | 10h00 Brasília | 14h00 Lisbon | 15h00 Berlin

Matteo Stettler (Deakin University): “Dante and the Bolognese Averroists: On Philosophy as a Profession and a Way of Life in XIII and XIV Century Italy”

Watch video | Listen to the talk | More info

June, 14 | 16h00 (UTC+1)

11h00 New York | 12h00 Brasília | 16h00 Lisbon | 17h00 Berlin

Lucas Nascimento Machado: “Life Beyond Capitalism: An Attempt at an Interlocution Between Hadot, Foucault and Byung-Chul Han”

Watch video | Listen to the talk | More info

May, 10 | 16h00 (UTC+1)

11h00 New York | 12h00 Brasília | 16h00 Lisbon | 17h00 Berlin

Eli Kramer & Leonard Waks: “Growth Unbound: John Dewey on the Socio-Cultural Role of Philosophy as  a Way of Life”

Watch video | Listen to the talk | More info

April, 12 | 12h00 (UTC+1)

7h00 New York | 8h00 Brasília | 12h00 Lisbon | 21h00 Melbourne

John Sellars: “Aristotle and Philosophy as a Way of Life”

Watch video | Listen to the talk | More info

March, 21 | 20h00 (UTC)

16h00 New York | 17h00 Brasília | 20h00 Lisbon | 7h00 Melbourne the following day

Matthew Sharpe: “Considerations on Philosophy as a Way of Life as Historiography of Philosophy: Restricted and Expanded Programs”

Watch video | Listen to the talk | More info